The Concord Square or the French Place de la Concorde is the largest city square in Paris . This colossal city square was originally dedicated to King Louis XV, but soon afterwards he was the place where his successor, Louis XVI, was executed on the guillotine during the French Revolution. Apart from other square decorations, the Egyptian obelisk at the center of the square attracts the greatest attention of tourists.
Place de la Concorde is the largest city square of Paris with an incredible surface of 8.6 hectares. This square was built in 1755, and was later named after Louis XV of France, Louis XV. However, during the French Revolution, the name of this square has changed to the Revolution Square, Place de la Révolution.
As early as 1795, the name of the square was changed again – this time in the Place de la Concorde (the square of the unity) as an attempt to calm down the passion and reconciliation after the dark period of the revolution.
By the fall of Napoleon, the monarchy reigns in power in France, so in 1814 the square was once again called Place Louis XV. In 1826, the name of the square changed again, but this time the king was executed during the Revolution – Place Louis XVI. After the Second French Revolution, in 1830, the name of the square finally changes to Place de la Concorde and remains unchanged until today.
During the French Revolution, Place de la Concorde, in addition to the other inmates, executed King Louis XVI, his wife Queen Anne, as well as King Elizabeth’s youngest sister Elizabeth of France. During the Revolution, many members of the French monarchy, as well as their followers, were executed in this square, most often in the presence of a large number of observers. The executions were carried out using guillotine, one of the innovations conceived during the revolution.
There is a large Egyptian obelisk in the center of the square. This obelisk is one of the two Egyptian obelisks that Egyptian ruler Muhammad Ali gave to France in the 19th century.
Due to their size and difficulty with which they could be transported, only one obelisk was transmitted to France, while the others remained in Egypt. The second obelisk was donated by the French president back to Egypt in 1990. Obelisk located on Place de la Concorde is from Luxor, 3300 years old and originally ordered by Egyptian pharaoh Rameses II. This obelisk is made of yellow granite, weighs about 250 tons and stands at a height of 23 meters.